SUMMER IS COMING TO ULMARRA

GCOUNTRY ON NING

VIDEOS. SLIDESHOWS AND MUSIC FROM  GCOUNTRY.

CONTINUED ON CLARENCE AND ULMARRA – JUST ANOTHER LOVE AFFAIR WITH THE BIG RIVER

STORMS 016
ULMARRA HOBIES 008

Took a walk down Coldstream to the boat ramp this morning, lamenting the brownness of the water which is deterring me  a little from swimming in the Clarence at Ulmarra.  Took some shots of the yachts moored on the far bank.

Yesterday at Wide River Music, two of the yachties who had sailed up from Tasmania, were telling us that they had come up the river because they had heard it on the grapevine that the Harwood Bridge was to be permanently prevented from opening and allowing tall masted vessels through. Get a grip, Councils etc!

ULMARRA HOBIES 013
ULMARRA HOBIES 018 - Copy

I have become reclusive again and haven’t been to the River for a while. I would prefer to live right on the river. Once, I lived in a boathouse in Urunga right on the Bellinger River and later in the Pilot House at the mouth of the Twin Rivers of Kalang and Bellingen but now I am 0.6km from any river at all. Saw two pedallers coming along from upriver and as they came in close recognised Edwina in a Hobie Cat. I have never seen one of these. They can be pedalled or paddled or sailed. Then, on alighting, just attach the wheels and they can be wheeled. Most impressed I am.

I am even more impressed with the information that, within a few weeks, canoe and hobie hire will be opening from the back of Ulmarra Hotel. I haven’t written a lot about the Hotel or the other shops in the Village as yet – but I will. This Mighty River – THE Big River – which is still rather brown and a little intimidating for the Swimmer ( namely Me, This Swimmer)  will then be accessible from your very own beer garden !!!!!! With the great meals and atmosphere. December 13 is the Social Clubs Xmas Party and the Droughtbreakers from Wide River are playing. 10-2 at the Cafe and then 4 onwards at the Pub. I LOVE VILLAGES !!!!!

http://gcountry.ning.com/

ULMARRA HOBIES 001 - Copy

That’s the Levee which holds back the Floods.  They build it back when Vision was operating. Its a fine , solid levee that one.  I might once have thought it aesthetically unpleasing but 2009 means that anything which holds back the water looks ‘ beautiful.’

ULMARRA HOBIES 006

There is a Big  Boat moored up near the Norco factory. I don’t know her story but she was here when we came in May. There are more stories  up at the Norco Factory where a lot of revamping seems to be going on. I like to take new communities in small morsels and let the Stories tell themselves.

I think I might have met the owner in  SLUGGO’S antique shop up along the Pacific Highway, just after the floods. The man I met was sitting in  the front of Sluggo’s chatting with him. A lot of slow chatting goes on in Ulmarra and thereabouts. If that was indeed the Owner of the Big Boat, then his anchor chain snagged on the Ulmarra Southgate Ferry Cable during the Floods.

CONTINUED ON CLARENCE AND ULMARRA – JUST ANOTHER LOVE AFFAIR WITH THE BIG RIVER

 

GRAFTON PAGE ON FACEBOOK

Leave a comment