Krishna kitchen serves food to hungry and homeless | Behind the Scenes | Life and style | The Guardian

I’m a qualified accountant, I work in Croydon at the Home Office, and people there call me Ash but at the Hare Krishna temple I’m Acyuta.I got involved with the Hare Krishna movement in my last year of uni about 10 years ago. A few monks came down, and gave a class on karma and why bad things happen to good people, and I found answers I had been looking for. I was initiated in 2007, and given a baptism name: Acyuta Charan Das.Around the same time, my wife Dipti introduced me to the Food For Life project, and I started volunteering. It was started by the founder of the Hare Krishna movement, AC Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada, in the 70s, after he saw poor children fighting with dogs over scraps of food in the street during his time in India. His vision was that anyone within a 10-mile radius of a Hare Krishna temple should not go hungry, so he sent his devotees out to feed the needy.We sanctify the food, offering it to God, and that spiritualised food is called prasadam, which means the mercy of the Lord. We believe that prasad helps you materially – by satisfying your hunger with nutritious food – but also brings you spiritual benefit. It’s a worldwide project, with volunteers distributing food

Source: Krishna kitchen serves food to hungry and homeless | Behind the Scenes | Life and style | The Guardian

One thought on “Krishna kitchen serves food to hungry and homeless | Behind the Scenes | Life and style | The Guardian”

Leave a Reply

