5 Habits of Highly Compassionate Men

5 Habits of Highly Compassionate Men

By Kozo Hattori / yesmagazine.org

Having compassion leads to increased happiness, freedom from gender stereotypes, and better relationships with others.

I remember being a very compassionate child. While watching “The Little House on the Prairie,” I cried my eyes out when Laura couldn’t give Pa a Christmas gift. But 12 years of physical abuse and being forced to the confines of the “act-like-a-man box” wrung most of that compassion out of me by the time I reached adulthood.

Although I was what therapists call “high-functioning,” my lack of compassion was like a cancer that poisoned my friendships, relationships, business affairs, and life. At the age of 46, I hit rock bottom. Unemployed and on the verge of divorce, I found myself slapping my four-year-old son’s head when he wouldn’t listen to me.

As a survivor of abuse, I had promised myself that I would never lay a hand on my children, but here I was abusing my beloved son.

Dr. Ted Zeff believes that only compassionate men can save the planet.

via 5 Habits of Highly Compassionate Men.

Leave a Reply

