Quotes about Quotations, Proverbs, Sayings, Aphorisms, etc

Being obsessed with quotations, it makes sense that the largest page in my collection is quotes about quotes. I’ve spent hundreds of hours tracing down original works for verification as well as culling several dozen new entries from long-lost treasures, not posted on any other public website. With the help of Google Books’ digitization of so many old precious texts and my own collection of dusty books, I’ve added the results of these efforts to my existing quarter-century’s compilation, and there are now over 400 entries. “All quotation dictionaries stand on the shoulders of their predecessors,” according to Fred Shapiro. He is indeed correct, and I am grateful to those who came before me and left clues for where to focus my search. As far as I am aware, this is the largest online or print collection of quotations about quotations, and if not, then it is certainly the most easily accessible large collection. Please enjoy, and if you actually reach the bottom of the page then you might just be a true quote addict like I am! —tεᖇᖇ¡·g, June 2012

via Quotes about Quotations, Proverbs, Sayings, Aphorisms, etc.

Leave a Reply

