Open Drum: Another day in paradise – ABC Sydney – Australian Broadcasting Corporation

AND now even the caravan park option is being closed down.

14 May, 2015 4:50PM AEST

Open Drum: Another day in paradise

By Suzanne (Audience contributor)Suzanne lived in a nice Sydney apartment until illness stopped her working and left her homeless.

4

Four years ago, I developed a neurological condition which meant my hands and arms went into painful spasms. I could not work. I was forced to leave my job and was placed on Newstart.

I was in my early fifties, university-educated, had worked full-time all my life and had held down a responsible position at a big city hospital. Now, I was one of the unemployed, living under constant financial stress. There were times I didn’t have enough money to eat.

It was terrifying.

via Open Drum: Another day in paradise – ABC Sydney – Australian Broadcasting Corporation.

Leave a Reply

