“Winter is the time for comfort, for good food and warmth, for the touch of a friendly hand and for a talk beside the fire: it is the time for home.”

THE OLD PROVERBIAL RECOVERY

― Edith Sitwell

z z picturesofbirdli00lodg_0191

Kathy Earsman

A MODERN AUSTRALIAN POET

A Final Toast By Judie Peet

To tracks I shall not walk
and trails I’ll never blaze,
to sun-kissed hues of far-off views
on which I’ll never gaze.

To birds I didn’t see,
and those I didn’t know,
to folk I guess I won’t impress
with bird lists I might show.

To trees I failed to save
and those that I have grown
to forests where I breathed the air
that Eden might have known.

To men I didn’t kiss
when I was young and shy,
to those I would now if I could —
to dreams I’ve let float by.

To those I might have helped
and good I might have done,
to happy tears and love-filled years,
gee whiz, I’ve had some fun.

View original post

Leave a Reply

