NT Intervention – the struggle continues after six years of racism and disempowerment

Lateral Love

NT Intervention – the struggle continues after six years of racism and disempowerment

by Barbara Shaw, Mt Nancy Town Camp, Alice Springs

Six years ago my family watched the TV in my living room as John Howard announced he would be sending in the military and taking control of our communities.

I have never been more frightened in my life. I locked the gate of my town camp and kept the kids inside for two weeks for fear of them being taken. I worried constantly about my family out bush who didn’t understand what was coming.

They said the Intervention was about stopping children from being abused, that it was going to stop the drinking and domestic violence. But all I have seen is racism and disempowerment of our people. It’s the old assimilation policy back again, to control how we live. The government and many non-Aboriginal NGOs have taken…

View original post 1,433 more words

Leave a Reply

