KATHY EARSMAN JOURNEY AT A TROT

JOURNEY AT A TROT

I’m very busy now. I’m scaling heights,
I’m swimming after dark from winter shores;
the fishers know my name, and there are nights
when ragged people warm my heart, because
they share the little that they have. I’ve slept
upon the beach, sung jazz up on the stage,
and wandered wild for days where sorrow crept
to snuffle at my heels. I know the cage

that is my isolation. Here’s the door.
Just watch me run! I gasp, my body aches
but still I must go on, there must be more!
I’ll find the energy although it takes

its toll of me. My love has passed away.
I push to just get through another day.

Kathleen Earsman 2004

This poem is another from Australian Poet KATHY EARSMAN. A woman gifted with words and with soul. 

IMG_0767

2 thoughts on “KATHY EARSMAN JOURNEY AT A TROT”

  1. It was my wish to help you, dear friend, but I worried that these might make things worse. Thank you for accepting them in the spirit I intended.
    My heart goes out to you. Lame words but deeply felt.

Leave a Reply

